Tax on Shipping Costs

Although the laws often change, the following 18 states currently require tax to be charged on shipping costs:

ArkansasConnecticutFloridaGeorgiaIllinoisIndianaKansasMichiganMinnesotaMississippiMissouri, New Mexico, New YorkOhioTexasWashington, West Virginia, Wisconsin

States that require Tax on Shipping Costs are shaded Dark Blue on the map below:


As a reminder, tax is required when shipping to states where store owners have nexus, or a physical point of presence. The addition of tax on shipping costs is required when a store owner both has nexus in and is shipping to one of the 18 states listed above.


To ensure that Goodsie store owners are in compliance with tax law, it’s now possible to add tax on shipping costs at the individual tax rule level.

To change tax settings in the Goodsie admin, please visit